20131229-100851

Sometimes it is hard to stay sane when you’re on the dating scene. You meet a lot of crappy, weird dudes. You meet a lot of nice dudes.  When someone ghosts you, I don’t care if you look like Beyonce and have the self-esteem of Hilary Clinton,  it makes you feel pretty shittay.  But I reached a new low last week when I got left stranded at a bar, two minutes prior from meeting my date.

Now let’s recap. I’ve had plenty of cancellations in my dating history.  It’s epidemic on dating sites. My theory is that because you’re going out with total strangers most of them don’t really care if they cancel or not.  Mostly I get cancelled on the day of but at least quite a few hours before the date.  Of course there was Mr. Psycho Canceller dude who cancelled on me 45 minutes before. But hey at least he didn’t leave me looking pretty stranded at a bar by myself.  Nope, the latest gentlemen cancelled on me 2 minutes before with his reasoning being……..wait for it……his grandmother died!

23ea9b0d74fc8defc63ac176c8c4be935710afe0561c21eac1dabc4d2545326a

ARE YOU SERIOUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS RIGHT NOW???

First a bit of background. This was a Tinder date. We matched a week prior and had been texting pretty consistently every day. He would check in with me, we’d do some small talk, he would send me pictures of what he was doing – usually fishing on his boat.  Overall he seemed like a really nice guy.  Day of date – he texted me to ask if it was okay if he wore a hat and if I was okay with tattoos?. Huh.  Truthfully, I’m a little eh about both of those – but hey come as you are! He had the day off so prior to our date he was just hanging around Boston.  So here’s what happened.

photo-24757468-shirtless-man-with-tattoo-and-hat-smoking

5:30: I get a text from him saying he was at the restaurant we were trying to go to. It didn’t take reservations. He said the wait was 1.5 hours so he put our names in.  Then he told me he was going to sit in a nearby park to wait for me.

5:50: I’m on the train. I texted him suggesting we get a drink at a nearby bar while we wait for the restaurant to call us.  He said cool and told me to text him when I got off the train.

6:00: I get off the train and text him to say I’ve arrived. He tells me what bar to go to and said he would be walking the same way that I was.

6:10: I arrive at the bar and text him that I am there.

6:11: He texts back “Where are you”. I text back “I’m at the bar!”

6:15: I see someone who looked suspiciously like him enter the bar and then leave.  But it was so quick and the guy had a hat and sunglasses on. But it was still weird. But at this point I had been waiting for a bit and he was presumably right behind me so my mind began to wander…..

6:20: I get this WHOPPER of a text.

IMG_3192          IMG_3193

A few things struck me as weird right off the bat. First off, what was with all the ellipses? Previously he had always been a full sentence writer.  Secondly, why all the extraneous info? Thirdly, you took a taxi? He lived outside the city. There was no way he took at taxi.  Fourthly, what are the fricken odds man????

Call me cynical and crazy but I just knew right off the bat this was complete bullshit. I don’t know what happened. If he really did walk into the bar and see me and bolted and then decided to bump off his dear old Granny well then talk about a red flag! But why THIS lie? I mean am I crazy or would a more appropriate lie be, ohhhhh I don’t feel well or better yet just stand me up like normal people and don’t text me anything! I mean I have never seen anything like it!

lies2

Just to confirm that I wasn’t a heartless bitch, I sent him a text the next day asking “how he was holding up” which he never answered.  I then found out he unmatched with me on Tinder.  And then I had my little sister FB stalk him and she found zero evidence of a dead granny announcement.

hamptons9335

So there I was, all dressed up with nowhere to go.  I decided that the only thing that would make my stood up ass feel better was to down several cocktails immediately. I then proceeded to text everyone I knew about what just happened and then see if some other Tinder match would want to meet me. I had a date set for Saturday with another guy so messaged him to see if he wanted to meet for spontaneous drinks.  He did so I met up with him later.  So everything worked out and probably dodged a bullet with the old Granny killer and I walked away with an amazing entry for my bad date scrap-book. The End.