download

As the world turns in terms of my dating life, I’ve been trying to become more open minded about who I go with.  When I was in my early 20s, I had a big thing for Irish guys.  Luckily, I live in Boston and in the summer time cute Irish lads are about as ubiquitous as clam chowder.  If you’ve read this blog you also know I have a fondness for tall men with nice heads of hair who smell good.  But since I’m still single in my 32nd year I’ve been trying to think more outside the box.  Ergo, why I accepted a date with a Mexican American guy who was originally from Texas last week.  It’s not that I purposely date basically only in my race, but I do tend to gravitate towards pasty, Anglo looking people.  But there are a lot of cute Mexican guys out there!

From his profile pictures, I wasn’t like insanely attracted to him but his messages to me were clever and he loved to travel and try new restaurants so I said what they hey.

late-for-work-running1

Our first date was at a restaurant that specialized in good cocktails and international tapas.  For some reason these days I seem to be running eternally late so instead of getting there first and forcing the “let’s eat at the bar” date I like to have for a first date, this one would be a dinner date. Womp womp.  Upon first meeting The Texan, a bit of nostalgia came over me. He kiiind of looked like a Mexican version of Mr. California! Same coloring, height, and build but slightly bigger nose and teeth. Welp, that’s weird I thought but perhaps could bode well for future attraction.

We had a pretty nice dinner – talked the usual gamut about travel, Boston, college, prior jobs, food, etc.  He seemed rather sweet but a bit on the quiet side but I was hoping it was like a pensive quiet and not an “I’m terrified of girls” quiet.  All of the sudden it was 11:30 – we had met at 7:30 – and we were shocked at how quickly the time flew by! We both walked to the train together, traded hugs, and then he texted me something random as he was walking home.  All in all I felt like it was a good date. He seemed nice, we had some good chats, and while not totally over the moon about him I definitely was ready for a date #2.

mr_nice_guy_best_record_label_miami_2013

Our first date was on Tuesday. Thursday night he texted me to see if I had Saturday plans. My Saturday had opened up (why THAT was will be revealed in my subsequent post!) and I agreed to meet him for drinks downtown.  Our 2nd date felt more like my style. We met at a nice bar and had some fancy drinks. Unfortunately, it was about this time I felt like we were running out of things to say. And the things he was saying were just okay. He wasn’t really funny. Or super clever. Or really interesting. He was just nice! Despite my feelings, I agreed to go to another bar with him for a few more drinks and some food.  He had mentioned a dive bar that he goes to a lot with friends and it randomly was one of my favorite in the city so we decided to go there. He did not tell me that the reason he frequents it so much was because his friends LIVE ABOVE THE BAR.  So did he know they were going to be there? Probably.  Did I really think it was the right time to hang out with friends of his since it was only our second date? Not so much.

19827261-256-k88a98fc9

I feel like meeting the friends is a very intimate thing.  Here I am, hanging out with a guy I barely know, and I get plopped literally right in the middle of his social world.  Luckily his friends were really awesome! Sadly, kiiiiind of more awesome than him. I really hit it off with one of the couples (should have gotten their number!) and since The Texan was a little quiet, I spent a lot of time talking to them.  The Texan was really so nice. You can imagine his friends being like “OMG, The Texan! He’s the sweetest guy. Every girl should want to date him!!”. But seriously ZERO chemistry and moves.

I like to think that I could be a slow burn kind of girl.  Maybe it’s true that the guys who are really worth knowing take a long time to get to know.  But bitch, I don’t have that kind of time! If I’ve had a bunch of cocktails and I still don’t want to jump your bod by date #2, I just don’t think it’s going to work out! I’m sorry but after 5,000 dates I just know these things about myself!

So after several cocktails with his friends, a location move, and some food we parted ways with his friends and both walked to the train stop.  I kind of had the feeling he wanted more than just a hug but I just wasn’t feeling it. I’m thinking he could sort of realize my mood because I got a text later from him saying that he had a good time but wished we had had more “one on one time”.  Then the next morning he sent me a picture of a Bloody Mary.  But I’m hoping that he really wasn’t feeling it either.

Sometimes nice guys are just nice guys. You don’t want to jump their bones and just move on.

Please God. Send me a cute guy with lots of charisma and who I want to jump his bones. Pleaseeeeeeeee!

il_fullxfull.295915436